Flap cable tension switch

This is a public forum for 737 maintenance related questions, requests and experience exchange discussions for every Boeing 737.


Flap cable tension switch

Postby canopy » 16 Feb 2008, 18:19

During the test of the flap cable tension switch, it says in the card that you should put a 0.04 inch thick steel sheet
between the switch and the magnet, we have tried a lot of different plates (steel, aluminum, led, titanium), but have never succeeded. As a result we have always removed the switch to perform the test. Has anyone else succeeded?
canopy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 19 Dec 2007, 23:55

Re: Flap cable tension switch

Postby sjap » 16 Feb 2008, 21:08

You removed the switch but left it connected or disconnected it? Or just moved it away from the magnet? The plate-trick always works, we do it many times. Maybe the switch is faulty and will never sense the magnetic field be gone when the cable breaks. ? (Or the switch works fine but the flap bypass valve is faulty and does not actuate to the bypass position?)
sjap
 
Posts: 707
Joined: 26 Jan 2007, 20:57
Location: Netherlands

Re: Flap cable tension switch

Postby canopy » 17 Feb 2008, 02:21

We use to move the switch away from the magnet when it still is connected. Then the bypass valve actuate to the bypass pos.I think that the task card says that a "SAE 1020 steel plate" should be used. I think it is strange, because we have tried led, but that did not work. It is not only on one aircraft.
canopy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 19 Dec 2007, 23:55


Return to - 737 technical questions & requests -

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron